teaching and conferences and new jobs, oh my!

June 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm 1 comment

So, between preparing 2 posters and 2 presentations for ALA Annual and tying up loose ends at work–I’ve accepted a position as an assistant branch manager for a public library system–I have fallen off the blogging bandwagon.

The semester’s going well for the most part–everything is MUCH easier, having already taught it all last semester–and several of my students from the winter have dropped by to give me hugs and say hi. We just finished playing Jeopardy as a review for the take-home midterm, and I think in the future–if I ever have a small class again–I want to alter the format to Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? instead. Jeopardy works great in larger classes, because most of the fun comes from the class being rowdy and smack-talking the other teams; my teeny Friday night classes are just too well-behaved. The WWtBaM format would be more dynamic with a smaller group, I think. “Ask the Audience” could be turned into “Ask Google”; 50/50 would work the same way; and I could have name their “phone-a-friend” (another classmate) before the game starts. I’ll have to do some research and see if anyone else has used the WWtBaM format.

If you’re going to be in New Orleans for ALA and want to meet up, I’ll be giving presentations/acting as hostess at the following programs/events:

Friday, 3-4pm @ MCC 271-273: Emerging Leaders Poster Session

Friday, 5:30-7pm @ Howlin’ Wolf Den (907 S. Peters St.) for ACRL-IS Soiree (I co-chaired the committee that planned this)

Saturday, 8-10am @ MCC 293-296: ACRL 101 (helping out as part of EL project)

Saturday, 1-2:30 @ MCC Exhibit Hall booth 2556, table 4: Congratulations! You’ve Landed an Interview: Now What Do Hiring Committees Really Want? (results of this survey)

Saturday, 4-5:30 @ MCC 271-273: LLAMA/NMRT New Leaders Discussion Group

Sunday, 12-1:30 @ ALA JobLIST Placement Center (in Exhibit Hall): Inside an Interview: Understanding What Hiring Committees Want (more detailed results of this survey)

See you in NOLA!

Entry filed under: conference, emerging leaders, jobs, teaching. Tags: .

a better way to teach about plagiarism notes from VLA

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Monique C.  |  June 23, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Once again, congrats on the job! Have fun in NoLA and let us know how ALA went! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About me

Follow me

Megan Hodge

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 335 other followers

